The Urban Table

The Urban Table serves American style food for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It is located at 40 Park Place Morristown, NJ 07960.

The restaurant has a fun and trendy vibe, a casual atmosphere, and moderate prices. One thing that I would complain about is the parking. Like many other places in Morristown, the restaurant has no parking lots, leaving you to pay for parking. Luckily, if there are many places to park on the street and there is a cheap garage right around the corner as well. Since I went for breakfast on a Sunday, I did not have trouble finding a spot. The servers here were friendly, but not bothersome. What surprised me most was no one server was in charge of any one table, rather all the servers working took care of all the tables. I think this is a really cool idea and a great way of spreading the work around so it doesn’t become overwhelming.

I will be specifically focusing on their breakfast menu which you can visit here:

Click to access UTMO-BFAST1.pdf

I’ve been to The Urban Table for breakfast twice and immensely enjoyed my meal both times.

First things first, the coffee was terrific and the mugs were ENORMOUS and a $2.50 with free refills I was quite pleased.

The first time I went, I got a UT Signature White Omelette. The omelette consists of egg (of course), tomato, spinach, asparagus, and goat cheese. The vegetables were fresh and complimented the creamy goat cheese nicely. The omelette was served with toast and home fried potatoes. For the toast you have a choice of white, wheat, or rye. The best part of the meal were the potatoes which were cooked to perfection. They were crispy without being too fried and the insides were soft and mushy. However the best part about them was the seasoning, which packed the potatoes full of flavor. I left the restaurant fully satisfied and stuffed, but what brought me back was the smell of what the table next to me ordered as I walked out.

The second time I went, I got the Urban Waffle Brulee, yes you heard me right, I said brulee. This scrumptious “dessert for breakfast dish” was contains a belgian waffle smothered in a berry hollandaise sauce finished off with a crispy brulee top. The waffle was crispy but not burnt, the berry hollandaise was thick and full of flavor. The hollandaise was also great because the banana was not overpowering. In many dishes I’ve had that include this yellow fruit, the banana becomes overwhelming and destroys any flavor from other ingredients. I was pleasantly surprised by their skill in using this ingredient. The brulee topping was the reason I ordered the dish, anyone who wants to cover my breakfast with a caramel-like, crispy coating may do so at any time. The brulee topping gave the waffle that extra kick and a bit more crunch.

After two fantastic experiences here I will be returning to this restaurant. Perhaps next time I will try dinner here!

Look for my next post on Joe’s Crab Shack in Clifton, NJ!

As a side note: As the camera on my phone was broken and I could not find the battery to my DSLR for the whole month of March, there will be no pictures for this and the next few reviews.

Leave a comment